In The Dog-Cart!

Barton

When my grandmother was annoyed with my grandfather she would refer to him as ‘being in the dog-house’; in other words, he had acted stupidly (in her eyes) and she wasn’t going to bother with him for a while. Of course, her mood never lasted long, but the phrase has stuck with me. So when I saw ‘in the dog-cart’ written on the back of this carte-de-visite from the Barnstaple Album, I immediately thought back to my grandmother. And although I can find no specific reference to the dog-cart variation, I assume it had a similar meaning, and that someone was annoyed with this gentleman.

Quite what he had done to deserve this, if it is directed at him, is a mystery!

Another mystery is his identity. I can connect him to the Haggard Family, since both this and a CDV from my previous post are labelled Barton (Lodge). Perhaps C.E.H. are his initials, which would be consistent with Haggard.

I think, though, that the surname is more likely to be ‘Heigham’ since, in 1861, Fanny Heigham can be found at the home of her brother-in-law John South Phillips in Great Barton, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk. But I could be wrong.

The Sportsman - 3 Apr 1869
The Sportsman – 3rd April 1869

As for the dog-cart, I may be wrong about that too. Wikipedia describes it as a ‘light horse-drawn vehicle’, much like the one above from an 1869 newspaper. Whereas, I’m thinking of a cart pulled by a dog (see here).

If anyone can enlighten me with anything regarding this photograph, please do!

Newspaper clippings are from The British Newspaper Archive © THE BRITISH LIBRARY BOARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

2 thoughts on “In The Dog-Cart!

Leave a Reply

